NeASFAA Bylaw Changes (3) proposed for April 2018 Association Business Meeting

Purpose: Merge 'Private colleges and universities' and 'Private Vocational colleges' sectors into one 'Private colleges and universities' sector

Rationale: The Private Vocational Colleges sector has seen a decline in membership and volunteerism in NeASFAA, especially regarding sector representation on the board of directors.

Proposed Change 1:

Current language 1:

Article IV, Section 1. The Association recognizes the following specific sectors of postsecondary institutions: 1) Public four-year colleges and universities, 2) Private colleges and universities, 3) Public two-year colleges, and 4) Private Vocational colleges.

Proposed language 1: The Association recognizes the following specific sectors of postsecondary institutions: 1) Public four-year colleges and universities, 2) Private colleges and universities, and 3) Public two-year colleges.

Proposed Change 2:

Current language 2:

Article V, Section 2. Number and Qualification The number of Directors of the Corporation shall be ten (10) provided, however, that such number may be changed (but in no event to a number less than three) by an amendment of these Bylaws duly adopted by the voting representatives of the Corporation.

Proposed language 2:

Article V, Section 2. Number and Qualification The number of Directors of the Corporation shall be nine (9) provided, however, that such number may be changed (but in no event to a number less than three) by an amendment of these Bylaws duly adopted by the voting representatives of the Corporation.

Proposed Change 3:

Current language 3:

Article V, Section 3. Thereafter, all Directors shall be composed of the incumbent officers of the Association and one representative from each of the following designated classification of member

institutions: 1) Public four-year colleges and universities, 2) Private colleges and universities, 3) Public two-year colleges, 4) Private Vocational colleges, 5. Associate.

Proposed language 3:

Article V, Section 3. Thereafter, all Directors shall be composed of the incumbent officers of the Association and one representative from each of the following designated classification of member institutions: 1) Public four-year colleges and universities, 2) Private colleges and universities, 3) Public two-year colleges, and 4) Associate.